Print RSS
Big 12 Trio Named USBWA All-Americans
March 18, 2013
A mix of young standout players has been selected to the 2012-13 United States Basketball Writers Association All-America Team and three Big 12 players are included. Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey of Kansas were honored, along with Oklahoma State's Marcus Smart.

Eight of the 10 honored players are underclassmen - including all five on the first team - and there are six conferences represented on the squad. Based on regular-season performance, the USBWA selects the nation's top five players on two teams regardless of position.

The Big 12 tied for first nationally with three All-America selections on the list. Kansas has had a USBWA All-American in five consecutive seasons and this year marks the fifth time the Jayhawks have had two All-Americans in the same year. Smart's honor gives OSU four USBWA All-Americans in school history.

Named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2013 Big 12 Championship where he averaged 13.3 point and 6.3 rebounds, Withey has 12 double-doubles this season, which rank second in the Big 12. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week this year, Withey averages 13.6 points and a team-high 8.4 rebounds. His 129 blocked shots in 2012-13 are second-most in school history and are 11 shy of his single-season record of 140 set last year. A two-time Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, Withey is KU's and the Big 12's all-time shot blocking leader with 294 heading into the NCAA Tournament.

An All-Big 12 First Team selection along with Withey, McLemore leads Kansas in scoring at 16.4 points per game this season, which is tops among conference freshmen and second overall in the Big 12. The St. Louis-native has 10 games of 20 points or more including three 30-plus scoring efforts. His 556 points in 2012-13 are a Kansas freshman record, surpassing KU legend Danny Manning's 496 set in 1985. McLemore leads the Big 12 in free throw percentage at 86.7 percent.

Smart is the third freshman in Big 12 history to be named conference Player and Freshman of the Year in the same campaign. He leads the Big 12 and ranks in the top 10 nationally in steals, while also placing among the top 15 in the league in scoring, rebounding, assists and free throw percentage.

Each of the 10 All-American selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced on Friday, April 5, in Atlanta in conjunction with the Final Four. The Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac will be formally presented on Monday, April 15, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.


First Team
Trey Burke, Michigan, G, 6-0, 190, So., Columbus, Ohio
Doug McDermott, Creighton, F, 6-8, 225, Jr., Ames, Iowa
Victor Oladipo, Indiana, G, 6-5, 214, Jr., Upper Marlboro, Md.
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, F, 7-0, 238, Jr., Kamloops, B.C.
Otto Porter, Georgetown, F, 6-8, 205, So., Sikeston, Md.

Second Team
Ben McLemore, Kansas, G, 6-5, 195, Fr., St. Louis, Mo.
Mason Plumlee, Duke, F, 6-10, 235, Sr., Warsaw, Ind.
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, G, 6-4, 225, Fr., Flower Mound, Texas
Jeff Withey, Kansas, C, 7-0, 235, Sr., San Diego, Calif.
Cody Zeller, Indiana, F, 7-0, 240, So., Washington, Ind.


< Rowing
Popular on
Load More