Print RSS
Griner Earns Wade Trophy and Defensive Player of the Year
April 09, 2013

Brittney Griner earned another player of the year award, winning the 2013 State Farm® Wade Trophy, as well as being named the 2013 WBCA National Defensive Player of the Year presented by United States Marine Corps.

Griner won the Wade Trophy in 2012 as well and is now a three-time Defensive Player of the Year honoree.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," is presented annually to the NCAA Division I Player of the Year by the WBCA and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). Now in its 36th year, the State Farm Wade Trophy is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. The award debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Griner, a 6-foot-8 post, finished her illustrious career at Baylor setting NCAA records for blocked shots (748) and dunks by a female (18) and ranks No. 2 on the NCAA Division I women's scoring charts with 3,283 points.

The Houston, Texas, native averaged 23.8 points, 9.4 rebounds and 4.1 blocks per game this season while shooting a nation's best .607 from the floor.

Griner has three times been named an All-American by the WBCA, AP, USBWA and Wooden Award and is a three-time WBCA Defensive Player of the Year. She was named most outstanding player of the Big 12 Championship, Big 12 Player of the Year and Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

< Rowing
Popular on
Load More