Print RSS
2014 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship Opening Day Matchups Determined
May 17, 2014
Day one matchups for the 2014 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship May 21-25 at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City have been determined.
Seeds 1-3 were announced Friday and belong to Oklahoma State, TCU (16-7) and Kansas (15-9), respectively. Based on championship tiebreaker procedures, West Virginia (9-13) will be seeded sixth, while Baylor (8-14) is seventh and Oklahoma (7-16) eighth. With one league game remaining, if BU and WVU were to finish with nine conference wins each, WVU holds the tiebreaker for the higher seed. If BU and OU were to finish with eight conference wins each, the Bears would own a better winning percentage for the higher seed.
Texas Tech earns the four seed after finishing conference play at 14-10 and will face fifth-seeded Texas in the nightcap on Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. CT. The Longhorns return to the event after a one-year hiatus and Tech will enter the championship with its highest seeding since 2004 (No. 3).
The Cowboys are the top seed and will open the event on Wednesday at 4 p.m. CT, facing Oklahoma for the sixth time this season and fourth time in a week. Eight of the past nine contests between the Bedlam opponents have been decided by two runs or less and the Sooners are 8-0 against Big 12 regular season champion Oklahoma State at the event. While OSU is on a 12-game winning streak, the Cowboys look to snap a current championship losing streak of seven games dating back to 2011. 
Wednesday’s opening session will feature third-seeded Kansas against West Virginia at 9 a.m. CT. KU finished its conference schedule winning nine consecutive Big 12 contests. The two teams met on day one in last year’s event with the Jayhawks earning the victory. This is Kansas’ best seed in the postseason event.
Second-seeded TCU will face Baylor at 12:30 p.m. CT. Like Oklahoma and Oklahoma State, the two teams are in action this weekend to close out the regular season. The Bears and Sooners are the only league squads to make every Big 12 postseason championship.
The 2014 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship is Wednesday, May 21-Sunday, May 25, at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City. All-session and weekend session passes are now on sale with single-session tickets available on Monday, May 19. Tickets may be purchased by visiting the Oklahoma City RedHawks Box Office or calling at (405) 218-1000. Additionally, tickets can be bought online via Ticketmaster at
FOX College Sports will telecast Wednesday through Saturday’s action, while Sunday’s championship finale will be aired on FOX Sports 1 at 4:30 p.m. CT.
2014 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship Day One Matchups
Session One
No. 6 West Virginia vs. No. 3 Kansas - 9 a.m.
No. 7 Baylor vs. No. 2 TCU - 12:30 p.m.
Session Two
No. 8 Oklahoma vs. No. 1 Oklahoma State - 4 p.m.
No. 5 Texas vs. No. 4 Texas Tech - 7:30 p.m.
< Baseball
Popular on
Load More