Print RSS
2014 Volleyball Preseason Awards, Team Announced
August 07, 2014
For the second year in a row, reigning Big 12 Player of the Year Haley Eckerman (Texas) has been selected as the Big 12 Volleyball Preseason Player of the Year, while Ainisa Havili (Kansas) was tabbed the Preseason Freshman of the Year.
The 2014 preseason team and awards are chosen by league coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.
This season Eckerman, who was the unanimously selected as the preseason Player of the Year, aims to become the third player in league history to garner Player of the Year honors in three seasons. Havili becomes the first Jayhawk to claim a Big 12 preseason honor.
Texas, Big 12 champions in three of the last four years, led all teams with four selections on the All-Big 12 Preseason Team, including unanimous choices in Eckerman and fellow senior Khat Bell. Molly McCage and last year’s Big 12 Freshman of the Year, Chiaka Ogbogu, also represent the Longhorns.
KU collected three preseason team selections, including unanimous choice Chelsea Albers, fellow senior Sara McClinton and sophomore middle blocker Tayler Soucie.
Iowa State and Oklahoma garnered a pair of preseason team members each. Mackenzie Bigbee and Victoria Hurtt are the Cyclone selections, while juniors Julia Doyle and Kierra Holst were voted onto the team for the Sooners. Andie Malloy (Baylor), Katie Brand (Kansas State) and Jordan Anderson (West Virginia) round out the 14-member preseason squad.
This is the seventh straight season a Texas student-athlete has been tabbed with the Preseason Player of the Year honor. Eckerman, a 6-3 outside hitter, is a three-time All-Big 12 First Team member, the 2013 and 2012 Big 12 Player of the Year and the 2011 Big 12 Freshman of the Year. The senior from Waterloo, Iowa, is a two-time AVCA First Team All-American and a two-time AVCA All-Region Player. She enters 2014 with 15 collective Big 12 career weekly awards, which ranks second in conference history. She is the league’s active career leader in kills, attack attempts and service aces. Last season, she started in every match as a junior, recording 447 kills (4.14 kps) while hitting .272 with 14 assists (0.13 aps), 38 aces (0.35 saps), 274 digs (2.54 dps), 44 blocks (0.41 bps) and 511.0 points (4.73 pps).
Havili was a four-year letterwinner at Haltom High School in Fort Worth. This summer she was one of 12 volleyball players in the country to be selected to play on the U.S Women’s Junior National Team that competed in Guatemala from July 6-14. Following her senior year, she collected Texas Girls Coaches Association First Team All-State and Academic All-State (5A) honors. In 2013, she was honored as the district 4-5A University Interscholastic League (UIL) Girls Volleyball Setter MVP. She was also voted team MVP all four years of her high school career, as well as four straight years as a first-team all-district honorees, and started her career winning the 2010 UIL Newcomer of the Year award.
The 2014 Big 12 volleyball preseason poll will be announced on Friday, August 8. The season starts on Friday, Aug. 29, with conference play beginning on Wednesday, September 24.

Preseason Player of the Year:
Haley Eckerman, Texas, OH, 6-3, Sr., Waterloo, Iowa/East^

Preseason Freshmen of the Year:
Ainise Havili, Kansas, S, 5-10, Fort Worth, Texas/Haltom

Preseason Team
Name, School Pos. Ht.     Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Andie Malloy, Baylor^ OH 6-2 Jr. Allen, Texas/Iowa State
Mackenzie Bigbee, Iowa State^ RS 6-1 Jr. Williamsburg, Iowa/Williamsburg
Victoria Hurtt, Iowa State OH 6-2 Sr. Kansas City, Mo./Archbishop O'Hara
Chelsea Albers, Kansas^ OH 6-1 Sr. Papillion, Neb./Millard North
Sara McClinton, Kansas OH 6-2  Sr.  Omaha, Neb./Millard North
Tayler Soucie, Kansas MB 6-1 So. Osawatomie, Kan./Osawatomie 
Katie Brand, Kansas State 6-1 So.  Grand Island, Neb./Central Catholic
Julia Doyle, Oklahoma^ S 6-2  Jr. Plymouth, Minn./Wayzata
Kierra Holst, Oklahoma  MB 6-4  Jr.  Coppell, Texas/Coppell 
Khat Bell, Texas^ MB/OH  6-1 Sr.  Mesquite, Texas/North Mesquite
Haley Eckerman, Texas^ OH 6-3 Sr.  Waterloo, Iowa/East
Molly McCage, Texas MB  6-3 Jr.  Spring, Texas/Klein Collins
Chiaka Ogbogu, Texas MB 6-2  So. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Jordan Anderson, West Virginia OH  6-0 So.  Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound 
^Unanimous Choice         
< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More