Print RSS
Big 12 Sends Seven Volleyball Teams to Postseason
November 26, 2017

The Big 12 will send 78 percent of its volleyball teams to postseason play as four earned berths to the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship and three will participate in the National Invitational Volleyball Championship (NIVC).

Baylor, Iowa State and Texas are set to host the First and Second Rounds for the NCAA Championship. It is the 22nd consecutive season the Big 12 has had multiple representatives in the NCAA championship.

Big 12 Champion Texas (24-2) earned the league’s automatic bid after going undefeated in Big 12 play and is coming off two back-to-back NCAA Runner-Up finishes (2016 and 2015).

Baylor (23-6) recorded its first top-16 seed in program history with the No. 12-seed nod. The Bears notched their sixth tournament appearance and second straight. Iowa State (21-6) tallied its 12th straight NCAA appearance while Kansas (22-7) is headed to the championship for the fifth consecutive season.

First and second round competition for the NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship will be held Nov. 30-Dec. 2 at 16 campus sites. Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play Dec. 8 and 9. Regionals for the championship will be held at four non-predetermined campus sites, which will be announced after play concludes on Dec. 2.

The Regional winners will advance to the national semifinals and championship final at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The national semifinal matches on Dec. 14 can be viewed on ESPN/ESPN2 while the championship match on Dec. 16 will be on ESPN2.

The NIVC has been revived after its six-year run from 1989-1995. TCU, Texas Tech and West Virginia will represent the Big 12 in the opening round. The field features 32 teams with the championship taking place Dec. 12 at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN3.


Friday, Dec. 1
Kansas vs. Missouri 6 p.m. Wichita, Kan.
Princeton at No. 14 Iowa State 7 p.m. Ames, Iowa
Fairfield at No. 6 Texas 7 p.m. Austin, Texas
Miami (OH) at No. 12 Baylor 7 p.m. Waco, Texas


Tuesday, Nov. 28
UMES at West Virginia 6 p.m. Morgantown, W.Va.
Thursday, Nov. 30
Wyoming vs. TCU 4 p.m. Denton, Texas
Texas Tech at SMU 4 p.m. San Marcos, Texas
< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More