Print RSS
Hamilton and Morris Named Oscar Robinson Award Finalists
February 28, 2011

A pair of Big 12 standouts - Jordan Hamilton of Texas and Marcus Morris of Kansas - have been announced as finalists for the 2011 Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the association's national player of the year. Hamilton and Morris are among the 10 players selected to appear on the ballot.

Hamilton leads the Longhorns in scoring (18.8 ppg) and double-doubles (six) and is tied for the lead in rebounding (7.5 rpg). He has converted 192-of-430 (.447) field goals, including 79-of-195 (.405) from 3-point range, and 83-of-107 (.776) free throws. The sophomore guard has topped the 20-point mark 13 times this year and has reached double figures in scoring 28 times. Hamilton (Jan. 23) is among the 11 Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week handed out by the USBWA this season.

Morris leads Kansas in scoring at 17.1 points per game, which ranks sixth in the Big 12. The junior forward has led Kansas in scoring 14 times this season, including four of the past six contests. He has posted double-digit point totals in 18 consecutive outings. He has led the Jayhawks in every statistical category at least once this season.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998. The Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 900 journalists.

The presentation of this year's award will take place on Friday, April 1 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association's coach of the year and will announce the winner of the first Wayman Tisdale National Freshman of the Year Award.


Pos. No. Player, School Yr.
G 32 Jimmer Fredette, BYU Sr.
G/F 3 Jordan Hamilton, Texas So.
F/C 25 JaJuan Johnson, Purdue Sr.
F 3 Terrence Jones, Kentucky Fr.
F       22   Marcus Morris, Kansas Jr.
F 2 Kyle Singler, Duke Sr.
G 2 Nolan Smith, Duke Sr.
F 0 Jared Sullinger, Ohio State Fr.
G 15 Kemba Walker, Connecticut Jr.
F 23 Derrick Williams, Arizona So.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More