Print RSS
Five Named To USBWA Watch List
November 24, 2014

The United States Basketball Writers Association has announced the USBWA's early season Watch Lists for men's national player and freshman of the year in college basketball.  Five standouts from the Big 12 are on the list, led by Iowa State’s Georges Niang and Juwan Staten of West Virginia for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.  Three Big 12 players are on the list for the Wayman Tisdale Award that is presented to the top freshman – Cliff Alexander and Kelly Oubre, Jr. (Kansas) and Myles Turner (Texas).

The Big 12 has won the Oscar Robertson Trophy twice in its history, with Blake Griffin (Oklahoma) earning the honor in 2008-09 after Kevin Durant of Texas was selected in 2006-07.  On four occasions a league player has been named the USBWA’s top freshman – most recently by Marcus Smart of Oklahoma State in 2012-13.  Kansas State’s Michael Beasley (2007-08), Durant (2006-07) and T.J. Ford of Texas (2001-02) were also chosen.

The player and freshman of the year awards, along with the Henry Iba Award for national coach of the year, will be announced in March and presented to the winners at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards gala at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City on April 14, 2015.


Oscar Robertson Trophy
Ron Baker, Wichita State
Branden Dawson, Michigan State
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Caris LeVert, Michigan
Jordan Mickey, LSU
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Terran Petteway, Nebraska
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
Angel Rodriquez, Miami
Juwan Staten, West Virginia
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Justise Winslow, Duke
Delon Wright, Utah


Wayman Tisdale Award
Cliff Alexander, Kansas
James Blackmon Jr., Indiana
Daniel Hamilton, UConn
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Robert Johnson, Indiana
Stanley Johnson, Arizona
Tyus Jones, Duke
Kaleb Joseph, Syracuse
Kevon Looney, UCLA
Trey Lyles, Kentucky
Chris McCullough, Syracuse
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville
Kelly Oubre Jr., Kansas
D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky
Reid Travis, Stanford
Myles Turner, Texas
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Rashad Vaughn, UNLV
Isaiah Whitehead, Seton Hall
Justise Winslow, Duke

In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its 2013-14 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the each award. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy and the Wayman Tisdale Award.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's second-oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.  The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With more than 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. 

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More