Print RSS
Seven Men’s Basketball Teams Headed To Postseason
March 12, 2017

For the fourth consecutive season, the Big 12 has placed seven schools in postseason play. Six league squads will compete in the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship, with TCU representing the conference in the National Invitation Tournament.

The Big 12 has had at least six postseason teams every season since it began competition as a 10-team league six years ago. The six NCAA squads in 2017 are the fourth-most of any conference in the nation.

No. 1 Kansas takes on winner of the First Four contest between North Carolina Central and UC Davis. The Jayhawks will play their first game in Tulsa, Okla. and are making their NCAA-record 28th consecutive appearance in the Big Dance.

No. 3 seed Baylor will also be heading to Tulsa, facing No. 14 New Mexico State.  BU is appearing in four consecutive NCAA Tournaments for the first time in program history. The Bears had never been to back-to-back NCAA Tournaments prior to this four-year streak.

West Virginia was selected as a No. 4 seed and will match up with No. 13 seed Bucknell. The Mountaineers are making their 28th NCAA Tournament appearance overall and eighth under head coach Bob Huggins. It will be the ninth overall meeting between the Mountaineers and the Bison, the last time coming in 1977 when Huggins was a WVU player.

Iowa State was slotted as a No. 5 seed in the Midwest and will play No. 12 seed Nevada in Milwaukee, Wis. The Cyclones earned their school-record sixth-straight NCAA Tournament berth, becoming the first Division I school in the state of Iowa to make it to the NCAA postseason in men's basketball six years in a row.  

No. 10 seed Oklahoma State is traveling to Indianapolis to face off with No. 7 seed Michigan. The Cowboys are making their 28th NCAA appearance. It is also the fourth time in four years as a head coach that Brad Underwood will be playing in the NCAA Tournament.

Kansas State is the first Big 12 team to play in the First Four in Dayton, Ohio since the current format began in 2011. The Wildcats will match up with Wake Forest, which is coached by former Kansas standout Danny Manning. It is the 29th NCAA bid in school history for the Wildcats.

TCU is the lone Big 12 representative in the NIT and will be making its first postseason appearance since earning a NIT berth in 2005. The Horned Frogs are 9-6 (.600) all-time in the event and will host Fresno State on Wednesday in Fort Worth.



< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More