Print RSS
Mason, Motley Named To USBWA All-America Teams
March 13, 2017

Frank Mason of Kansas and Baylor’s Johnathan Motley are two of the 10 players named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's 2016-17 All-America First and Second Teams.

The five first-teamers, including Mason, are finalists for the prestigious Oscar Robertson Trophy as the USBWA's Men's National Player of the Year. Four of the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists were named District Players of the Year last week by the USBWA and all five were named either player of the year or freshman player of the year in their respective leagues.

The USBWA and the legendary Oscar Robertson will announce the Oscar Robertson Trophy winner as the national player of the year at the NCAA Men's Final Four in Glendale, Ariz, at a press conference on Friday, March 31. The trophy is named after "The Big O," a three-time national player of the year and All-American at the University of Cincinnati.

Mason, the Big 12 Player of the Year and the District VI Player of the Year, led the Jayhawks to their 13th straight conference title. Mason is the fisrt Kansas player to lead the Big 12 in scoring (20.8 ppg) since the 2004-05 season.

Motley was an All-Big 12 First-Team selection who ranks first in the conference in rebounding (9.9 rpg) and fourth in scoring (17.3 ppg). He is the school's first player to earn USBWA All-America recognition.




G Lonzo Ball, UCLA (6-6, 190, Fr., Chino Hills, Calif.)

G Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga (6-3, 195, Jr., Happy Valley, Ore.)

G Josh Hart, Villanova (6-5.5, 215, Sr., Silver Spring, Md.)

G Frank Mason III, Kansas (5-11, 190, Sr., Petersburg, Va.)

F Caleb Swanigan, Purdue (6-9, 250, So., Fort Wayne, Ind.)


F Dillon Brooks, Oregon (6-7, 225, Jr., Mississauga, Ont.)

F/G Justin Jackson, North Carolina (6-8, 210, Jr., Tomball, Texas)

G Luke Kennard, Duke (6-6, 202, So., Franklin, Ohio)

G Malik Monk, Kentucky (6-3, 200, Fr., Lepanto, Ark.)

F Johnathan Motley, Baylor (6-10, 230, Jr., Houston, Texas)

The USBWA All-America teams are voted on by members of the USBWA, which is comprised of over 900 sportswriters and sports journalists who cover college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With some 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season. 

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More