Print RSS
2012 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Awards Announced
March 04, 2012
Kansas junior Thomas Robinson has been chosen Big 12 Player of the Year and leads the 2012 All-Big 12 Men's Basketball accolades, it was announced. Jeff Withey (Kansas) earned Defensive Player of the Year recognition, while Royce White (Iowa State) is the top newcomer. Quincy Miller (Baylor) and Le'Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State) share Freshman of the Year, while Michael Dixon earned the Sixth Man Award. Fred Hoiberg of Iowa State and Bill Self of Kansas tied for Big 12 Coach of the Year honors.

Robinson is the only player in the Big 12 to average a double-double (18.0 ppg, 11.9 rpg) and his 22 double-doubles this year are fourth on the conference single-season list. Against eight nationally-ranked teams in 2011-12, he averaged 19.8 points and 12.3 rebounds while shooting 55.6 percent. Robinson's honor is the seventh time that a Kansas men's basketball athlete has won Player of the Year.

Withey led the Big 12 in blocked shots with 100, a total that ranked fifth on the conference single-season chart. Sixty-five of those rejections came in league games, setting a Big 12 record for conference play. Withey is the fourth Jayhawk to win the top defensive honor since it began in 2005-06, including three times in the past four seasons.

White is the second Iowa State player in league history to be named top newcomer. A unanimous selection for the award, he averaged 12.9 points per game and ranks second in rebounding with 9.2 per contest. He was also fifth overall in assists with a 5.2 average, dishing out five or more in a game 17 times in 2011-12.

Miller and Nash shared the accolade for top freshman. Miller was fourth on his team in scoring (11.5 ppg) and scored in double digits 16 times. Nash was the Big 12's top scoring freshman with 13.3 points per game and tied Miller for third among freshman rebounders with 5.0 per contest. Both athletes are the first from their school's to be named Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

Dixon was the unanimous pick for the Sixth Man Award. The junior ranked 12th in the conference in scoring with 13.3 points despite coming off the bench in all 31 Missouri contests. He finished the regular season on a strong note, scoring in double figures in the last 10 outings while shooting 57 percent or better seven times. He is the second Tiger to be named top sixth man.

Hoiberg wins coaching accolades after leading the Cyclones to the greatest turnaround in Big 12 history. Iowa State won nine more games than a year ago and earned the No. 3 seed in the Big 12 Championship. Self is named top coach for the third time in the last four seasons and fourth time overall after leading KU to its eighth consecutive Big 12 regular season crown.

The All-Big 12 First, Second, Third and Honorable Mention teams were also announced, while conference coaches also selected All-Defensive and All-Rookie Teams. Marcus Denmon (Missouri) is the lone repeat first team choice from a year ago, while Robinson, White and Tyshawn Taylor (Kansas) were all unanimous first team selections.

The official All-Big 12 awards are selected by the league's head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Player of the Year: Thomas Robinson, Kansas, F, Jr., 6-10, 237, Washington, D.C./Brewster Academy [N.H.]
Defensive Player of the Year: Jeff Withey, Kansas, C, Jr., 7-0, 235, San Diego, Calif./Horizon
Newcomer of the Year: Royce White, Iowa State, F, So., 6-8, 270, Minneapolis, Minn./Hopkins/Minnesota**
Co-Freshman of the Year: Quincy Miller, Baylor, F, Fr., 6-9, 210, High Point, N.C./Westchester Country Day School
Le'Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State, G/F, Fr., 6-7, 230, Dallas, Texas/Lincoln
Sixth Man Award: Michael Dixon, Missouri, G, Jr., 6-1, 185, Kansas City, Mo./Lee's Summit West**
Co-Coaches of the Year: Fred Hoiberg, Iowa State [Career and at ISU: 38-25, 2nd season]
Bill Self, Kansas [Career: 470-156, 19th season; At KU: 263-51, 9th season]
Ties in the voting created additional spots for Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year

All-Big 12 First TeamPos.Ht.Wt.Cl.Hometown/Previous School(s)
Royce White, Iowa State**F6-8270So.Minneapolis, Minn./Hopkins/Minnesota
Thomas Robinson, Kansas**F6-10237Jr.Washington, D.C./Brewster Academy [N.H.]
Tyshawn Taylor, Kansas**G6-3185Sr.Hoboken, N.J./St. Anthony
Marcus Denmon, MissouriG6-3 185 Sr.Kansas City, Mo./Hogan Prep
J'Covan Brown, TexasG6-1197Jr.Port Arthur, Texas/Memorial
All-Big 12 Second TeamPos.Ht.Wt.Cl.Hometown/Previous School(s)
Quincy Acy, BaylorF 6-7 235 Sr.Mesquite, Texas/Horn
Pierre Jackson, BaylorG5-10180Jr.Las Vegas, Nev./Desert Pines/College of Southern Idaho
Rodney McGruder, Kansas StateG6-4205Jr.Washington, D.C./Arlington Country Day [Fla.]
Ricardo Ratliffe, MissouriF6-8240Sr.Hampton, Va./Kecoughtan/Central Florida CC
Keiton Page, Oklahoma StateG5-9165Sr.Pawnee, Okla./Pawnee
All-Big 12 Third TeamPos.Ht.Wt.Cl.Hometown/Previous School(s)
Perry Jones III, BaylorF6-11235So.Duncanville, Texas/Duncanville
Scott Christopherson, Iowa StateG6-3195Sr.LaCrosse, Wis./Aquinas/Marquette
Jeff Withey, KansasC7-0235Jr.San Diego, Calif./Horizon
Kim English, MissouriG 6-6 200Sr.Baltimore, Md./Randallstown/Notre Dame Prep
Phil Pressey, MissouriG5-10175So.Dallas, Texas/Dallas Episcopal
All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (Listed alphabetically by school)
Quincy Miller (Baylor), Chris Allen (Iowa State), Melvin Ejim (Iowa State), Jamar Samuels (Kansas State), Steven Pledger (Oklahoma), Romero Osby (Oklahoma), Le'Bryan Nash (Oklahoma State), Myck Kabongo (Texas), Elston Turner (Texas A&M), David Loubeau (Texas A&M)
Big 12 All-Defensive TeamPos.Ht.Wt.Cl.Hometown/Previous School(s)
Quincy Acy, Baylor**F 6-7 235 Sr.Mesquite, Texas/Horn
Jeff Withey, Kansas**C7-0235Jr.San Diego, Calif./Horizon
Jordan Henriquez, Kansas StateF6-11250Jr.Port Chester, N.Y./The Winchendon School [Mass.]
Rodney McGruder, Kansas StateG6-4205Jr.Washington, D.C./Arlington Country Day [Fla.]
Michael Dixon, MissouriG 6-1 185 Jr.Kansas City, Mo./Lee's Summit West
Big 12 All-Rookie TeamPos.Ht.Wt.Cl.Hometown/Previous School(s)
Pierre Jackson, Baylor**G5-10180Jr.Las Vegas, Nev./Desert Pines/College of Southern Idaho
Quincy Miller, BaylorF6-9210Fr.High Point, N.C./Westchester Country Day School
Royce White, Iowa State**F6-8270So.Minneapolis, Minn./Hopkins/Minnesota
Le'Bryan Nash, Oklahoma StateG/F6-7230Fr.Dallas, Texas/Lincoln
Myck Kabongo, TexasG6-1169Fr.Toronto, Ontario, Canada/St. Benedict's Prep [N.J.]
** - Unanimous Selection
< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More