Print RSS
2013 Academic All-Big 12 Menís Basketball Team Includes 23 Honorees
February 14, 2013
The Big 12 Conference has named 23 student-athletes to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Team, the league office announced.

Christien Sager (Oklahoma State) was nominated with a 4.00 grade point average while Melvin Ejim (Iowa State) became a two-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team member. Brady Heslip (Baylor) and Tyler Neal (Oklahoma), first team members this year, were also honored last season as second team selections.

Texas Tech led all teams with five honorees, including four first team spots.

A total of 15 student-athletes garnered first team recognition, while eight individuals were named second team members.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (either cumulative or the two previous semesters) and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More