Print RSS
Big 12 Conference Basketball Coaches Select All-Big 12 Team
March 12, 2003

March 12, 2003

DALLAS - Kansas senior Nick Collison and Texas head coach Rick Barnes highlight the 2003 Coaches All-Big 12 Team, the conference office announced Wednesday.

Collison was the coaches' vote for Big 12 Player of the Year as the mentors chose first, second, third, and honorable mention teams in addition to player, newcomer, and freshman of the year. Coaches were not allowed vote for their own players on the ballot. In all there are 30 student-athletes represented on the 2003 all-conference squad.

Collison guided Kansas to its second straight and fourth overall Big 12 men's basketball championship in 2003. It is Kansas' 47th all-time conference title which is more than any other Big 12 school. The Iowa Falls, Iowa, forward leads KU and ranks third in the Big 12 in scoring with an 18.6 average. He also ranks in the top five in the league in rebounds (fourth at 9.3), field goal percentage (sixth at 54.0), and blocked shots (fourth at 1.8). Other student-athletes who received player of the year votes from the coaches include Texas sophomore T.J. Ford, Kansas senior Kirk Hinrich, and Oklahoma senior Hollis Price. With Associated Press naming Price its Big 12 Player of the Year last Tuesday, this marks the first time in the seven year history of the conference there are two different players of the year for the same season.

Oklahoma State junior Tony Allen is the coaches' selection for Big 12 Newcomer of the Year. The Chicago, Ill., guard transfer from Wabash Valley (Ill.) Community College is second on the team and 15th in the Big 12 in scoring with a 14.7 average. OSU is No. 4 seed in the heading into the Phillips 66 Big 12 Tournament, March 13-16 in Dallas. Allen joins former Cowboys Maurice Baker in 2001 and Doug Gottlieb in 1998 as Big 12 Newcomers of the Year. Gottlieb was the Associated Press selection while Colorado's Kenny Price was the coaches' choice. Others who received coaches votes for Big 12 Newcomer of the Year included Missouri junior Ricky Clemons, Kansas junior Jeff Graves, and Iowa State juniors Jackson Vroman and Tim Barnes.

Big 12 Freshman of the Year goes to Texas A&M forward/guard Antoine Wright. A four-time Phillips 66 Big 12 Rookie of the Week selection in 2002-03, Wright leads the conference freshman class in scoring with a 14.6 average, which is second on the A&M team and 17th in the league. Wright is a three-point threat as his 38.7 percent this season is 10th in the Big 12 and his 2.3 made per game is seventh. Former Big 12 Freshmen of the Year selections from Texas A&M include Jerald Brown in 1997 and current senior Bernard King who was co-freshman of the year with Missouri's Kareem Rush in 2000. Others who received coaches' votes for Big 12 Freshman of the Year included Oklahoma forward Kevin Bookout, Texas forward Brad Buckman, and Missouri guard Jimmy McKinney.

In his fifth season at Texas, Barnes has guided the Longhorns to one Big 12 championship in 1999, three second place finishes - 2000, 2001, and 2003 - and one third place slot in 2002. For the first time in school history, Texas has been ranked in the both national Top 10 polls from the start of the season, 18 straight weeks. The Longhorns check in at No. 3 in the Associated Press and ESPN/USA TODAY Coaches polls. UT's 14-0 home record in 2002-03 is its first undefeated mark at the Erwin Center in nine seasons which dates back to 1994-95. Since Barnes' arrival at Texas, the Longhorns have amassed the most wins in a five-year span than any other period at UT, currently at 112 victories. Barnes is named Big 12 Coach of the Year for the second time as he also earned the honor in 1999.

Joining Collison on the coaches' All-Big 12 first team are Hinrich, Ford, Price, and Texas Tech junior Andre Emmett. Hinrich, Price and Emmett are repeat first team All-Big 12 selections from last season. Collison and Ford were second team last year. Emmett leads the Big 12 in scoring at 21.9 ppg while Price is second at 19.4 ppg and Hinrich fourth at 17.9 ppg. Ford is 14th in the conference in scoring at 14.8 ppg and leads the league for the second straight year in assists at 7.22 per game. Last year he was the first freshman in NCAA Division I to lead the nation in assists.

First Team
Nick Collison, Kansas (Sr., F, 18.6 ppg, 9.4 rpg, Iowa Falls, Iowa)
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech (Jr., G, 21.9 ppg, 5.8 rpg, Dallas, Texas)
T.J. Ford, Texas (So., G, 14.8 ppg, 7.2 apg, Houston, Texas)
Kirk Hinrich, Kansas (Sr., G, 17.9 ppg, 3.9 rpg, Sioux City, Iowa)
Hollis Price, Oklahoma (Sr., G, 19.4 ppg, 2.9 rpg, New Orleans, La.)

Second Team
Arthur Johnson, Missouri (Jr., F/C, 15.4 ppg, 9.2 rpg, Detroit, Mich.)
Michel Morandais, Colorado (Jr., G/F, 17.4 ppg, 5.4 rpg, Guadeloupe, French West Indies)
Rickey Paulding, Missouri (Jr., G/F, 17.1 ppg, 5.4 rpg, Detroit, Mich.)
James Thomas, Texas (Jr., C, 11.6 ppg, 11.3 rpg, Schenectady, N.Y.)
Victor Williams, Oklahoma State (Sr., G, 15.3 ppg, 3.2 apg, Kansas City, Kan.)

Third Team
Brandon Mouton, Texas (Jr., G, 14.2 ppg, 4.4 rpg, Lafayette, La.)
Stephane Pelle, Colorado (Sr., F, 12.4 ppg, 9.6 rpg, Yaounde, Cameroon)
Lawrence Roberts, Baylor (So., F, 15.7 ppg, 10.6 rpg, Houston, Texas)
Jake Sullivan, Iowa State (Jr., G, 17.6 ppg, 3.3 rpg, Oakdale, Minn.)
Quannas White, Oklahoma (Sr., G, 8.4 ppg, 4.1 apg, New Orleans, La.)

Honorable Mention
Tony Allen, Oklahoma State (Jr., G); Ricky Clemons, Missouri (Jr., G); David Harrison, Colorado (So., C); Nate Johnson, Nebraska (Jr., G); Bernard King, Texas A&M (Sr., G); Keith Langford, Kansas (So., G); John Lucas, Baylor (So., G); Ivan McFarlin, Oklahoma State (Jr., F); Aaron Miles, Kansas (So., G); Pervis Pasco, Kansas State (Sr., F); Kasib Powell, Texas Tech (Sr., F); Melvin Sanders, Oklahoma State (Sr., G/F), Jackson Vroman, Iowa State (Jr., F); Antoine Wright, Texas A&M (Fr., F/G)

Player of the Year - Nick Collison, Kansas
Newcomer of the Year - Tony Allen, Oklahoma State (Jr., G, 14.7 ppg, 5.5 rpg, Chicago, Ill.)
Freshman of the Year - Antoine Wright, Texas A&M (G/F, 14.6 ppg, 6.7 rpg, San Bernardino, Calif.)
Coach of the Year - Rick Barnes, Texas

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More