Print RSS
Clemente and Collins Named To Bob Cousy Award Finalist List
January 05, 2010
Kansas senior Sherron Collins and Kansas State junior Denis Clemente have been named two of the 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has announced.

This marks the second straight year Collins has been a Cousy finalist. The guard has scored in double figures in 10 games this season for the No. 1 Jayhawks.  Collins is second on the team in scoring with 13.8 points per game.  He also ranks among the league-leaders in assists (4.2), 3-point field goal percentage (.419), 3-point field goals made (2.0) and assist-to-turnover ratio (2.2).

Clemente has helped guide K-State to its first top 10 ranking in more than 35 years.  The Wildcats are off to the second-best start in school history and the best since the 1958-59 season.   The guard is the team’s second-leading scorer at 14.1 points per game and has scored in double figures in 12 of 14 contests.  He ranks second in the Big 12 in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.81, while he is seventh in assists (4.2) and tied for 10th in 3-point field goals made per game (1.79).

The 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group is an annual award given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy.

An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2010 award will be narrowed down to 10 players by February 1 and then further to five players by March 1. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday, April 5 in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award, which started in 2004, have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), D.J. Augustin (Texas) and Ty Lawson (North Carolina).

For more information on the 2010 Bob Cousy Award, log onto

2010 Bob Cousy Award Finalists
Talor Battle, Penn State
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech
Devan Downey, South Carolina
Manny Harris, Michigan
Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin
Jeremy Lin, Harvard
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Ronald Moore, Siena
Jerome Randle, California
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati
Kemba Walker, Connecticut
John Wall, Kentucky
Chris Warren, Mississippi
Nic Wise, Arizona

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More