Print RSS
Five Menís Basketball Standouts On Naismith Trophy Midseason List
February 24, 2010
The top 30 midseason men’s list for the Naismith Trophy has been announced and five Big 12 men’s basketball student-athletes are on the list.  Kansas is one of two teams nationally with two candidates as Sherron Collins and Cole Aldrich are part of the 30-person list.  Jacob Pullen (Kansas State), James Anderson (Oklahoma State) and Damion James (Texas) were also included. 

The Big 12 had five players included, the third-most among all conferences.  The Conference has had the national award winner in two of the last three years – Blake Griffin (Oklahoma) a year ago and Kevin Durant (Texas) in 2006-07.

The top 30 midseason men’s list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is one of the most prestigious national basketball awards and is given annually to the men’s college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

“While several candidates have begin to separate themselves there are a number of whom still can win the esteemed Naismith Trophy,” said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president.  “The exceptional talent level across the country has greatly elevated college basketball which makes for an outstanding finish to such a tremendous season.”

Beginning March 22, AT&T wireless customers — and sports fans on other wireless networks — will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice.  Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 10:59 p.m. CDT on Saturday, April 3, 2010. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. Standard messaging rates apply.

CBS Sports’ “AT&T at the Half” features a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch, highlighting the men’s players in contention for the coveted award who have distinguished themselves throughout the season. On March 21, CBS will announce the four Naismith Trophy finalists during its first-round coverage of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.

2010 Naismith Men’s Midseason Candidates

Cole Aldrich, Kansas
Sherron Collins, Kansas
Jacob Pullen, Kansas State
James Anderson, Oklahoma State
Damion James, Texas
Al-Farouq, Wake Forest
Luke Babbitt, Nevada
Trevor Booker, Clemson
Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
Da’Sean, Butler, West Virginia
DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky
Devan Downey, South Carolina
Jerome Dyson, Connecticut
Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame
Gordon Hayward, Butler
Robbie Hummel, Purdue
Wesley Johnson, Syracuse
Dominique Jones, South Florida
Sylven Landesberg, Virginia
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State
Greg Monroe, Georgetown
Scottie Reynolds, Villanova
Omar Samhan, Saint Mary’s
Jon Scheyer, Duke
Evan Turner, Ohio State
Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland
John Wall, Kentucky

For more information, visit

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More