Print RSS
Two Big 12 Player Are Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalists
February 26, 2009
The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has announced finalists for the 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the association's national player of the year.   Oklahoma standout Blake Griffin and KU leader Sherron Collins are the two Big 12 players among the group of 15 student-athletes named.  
The presentation of this year's award will take place on Friday, April 3 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the downtown Detroit Athletic Club in conjunction with the Men's Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association's coach of the year, as well as the 1979 Michigan State national championship team that was led by Earvin "Magic" Johnson.
The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 800 journalists. The ballot will be distributed to the membership on Monday, March 2.
The following players are finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy:
SHERRON COLLINS, Kansas (5-11, 200, Jr., Chicago, Ill.)
BLAKE GRIFFIN, Oklahoma (6-10, 251, So., Oklahoma City, Okla.)
DeJuan Blair, Pittsburgh (6-7, 265, So., Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Dante Cunningham, Villanova (6-8, 230, Sr., Silver Spring, Md.)
Stephen Curry, Davidson (6-3, 185, Jr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Tyreke Evans, Memphis (6-6, 219, Fr., Chester, Pa.)
Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina (6-9, 250, Sr., Poplar Bluff, Mo.)
Luke Harangody, Notre Dame (6-8, 255, Jr., Schererville, Ind.)
James Harden, Arizona state (6-5, 218, So., Los Angeles, Calif.)
Ty Lawson, North Carolina (5-11, 195, Jr., Clinton, Md.)
Jerel McNeal, Marquette (6-3, 200, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
Jodie Meeks, Kentucky (6-4, 208, Jr., Norcross, Ga.)
Hasheem Thabeet, Connecticut (7-3, 263, Jr., Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania)
Jeff Teague, Wake Forest (6-2, 180, So., Indianapolis, Ind.)
Evan Turner, Ohio State (6-7, 205, So., Chicago, Ill.)
The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More