Print RSS
Seven Women's Basketball Teams Advance to Postseason
March 13, 2017

Seven Big 12 women’s basketball teams were selected to compete in postseason play with six in the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship and one in the WNIT.

This year marks the eighth-consecutive in which at least 70 percent of Big 12 teams have extended their season.

No. 6 seed West Virginia earned the Conference’s automatic bid into the NCAA field after winning the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championship. The Mountaineers are making their 12th appearance and seventh out of the last eight seasons.

Baylor earned a No. 1 seed for the second-consecutive year and fifth season overall. It is the ninth No. 1 seed in Big 12 history. The Lady Bears won the Big 12 regular season title and advanced to the NCAA Championship for the 14th-consecutive year and 16th occasion overall.

Joining West Virginia and Baylor in the NCAA Championship are: No. 3 seed Texas, No. 6 seed Oklahoma, No. 7 seed Kansas State and No. 9 seed Iowa State.

Only two programs have played in the NCAA tournament more than Texas as the Longhorns made the field for the 30th time and ninth year out of the last 10. Oklahoma advanced to NCAA play for the 20th season and 18th straight. Iowa State claimed its 17th appearance and 10th out of 11 years. K-State received an invite for the 15th season.

Baylor, Texas and K-State will host first and second round games.

Oklahoma State is the Big 12’s automatic qualifier in the WNIT. First round matchups will be announced later on Monday night.

The Big 12’s six NCAA Championship bids mark the 10th time out of 11 years for at least six squads to make the field. The Big 12 is the only league with 60 percent of its teams chosen.

Including this year’s selections, the Big 12 has 128 appearances in the NCAA Championship and 41 in the WNIT for a total of 169 postseason bids since inception in 1996-97.

Big 12 NCAA Championship First Round Matchups
Friday, March 17
No. 11 Elon vs. No. 6 West Virginia in College Park, Md. (ESPN2), 1:30 p.m. CTNo. 14 Central Arkansas at No. 3 Texas in Austin, Texas (ESPN2), 1:30 p.m. CT

Saturday, March 18
No. 9 Iowa State
vs. No. 8 Syracuse in Storrs, Conn. (ESPN2), 12:30 p.m. CT
No. 10 Drake at No. 7 K-State in Manhattan, Kan. (ESPN2), 3:00 p.m. CT
No. 16 Texas Southern at No. 1 Baylor in Waco, Texas (ESPN2), 5:30 p.m. CT
No. 11 Gonzaga vs. No. 6 Oklahoma in Seattle, Wash. (ESPN2), 5:30 p.m. CT

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More