Print RSS
WNIT Names Three to All-Time Top 20 Players
April 05, 2017

As the 20th Postseason WNIT came to a finish on April 1, tournament officials announced the all-time Top 20 players to compete in the event.

Former Big 12 players named to the list included Sophia Young (Baylor), Danielle McCray (Kansas) and Toni Young (Oklahoma State).

2003: Sophia Young (Baylor) – Had a tournament-record 68 rebounds, including 25 in last-second loss to Auburn in title game where she also scored 20 points. She went on to be a first-team all-American and scored 2,480 points in her Baylor career.

2009: Danielle McCray (Kansas) – Set the all-time scoring record in the Postseason WNIT with 147 points. Despite a knee injury, she scored 1,934 points in college and was selected No. 7 in the 2010 WNBA Draft.

2012 MVP: Toni Young (Oklahoma State) – Scored 25 points and added nine rebounds in 75-68 win against James Madison; set tourney record with 54 made field goals. Helped Cowgirls cap difficult season when head coach Kurt Budke and assistant coach Miranda Serna were killed in a November 2011 plane crash.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More