Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Soccer Team Announced
October 30, 2012
The Big 12 Conference has named 99 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Soccer Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, seven were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average, including two Baylor student-athletes - Dana Larsen and Alexa Wilde. Jessica Stewart (Iowa State), Katharine Nutman (Oklahoma), Kristen Kelley (Oklahoma State), Haley Haagsma (Texas Tech) and Frances Silva (West Virginia) also represented with 4.00 GPAs.

Larsen is a three-time first team member and posted a perfect GPA in her three years on the Academic All-Big 12 squad. This marks the second straight year that Stewart, Nutman, Kelley and Haagsma have posted 4.00 marks.

Iowa State led all teams with 18 total honorees, while Baylor tallied the most first team selections with 14. Each school was represented with at least five first team members.

A total of 79 student-athletes earned first team recognition, while 20 individuals made up the second team.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Soccer
Popular on
Load More