Print RSS
Big 12 Announces 2010 Soccer Postseason Awards
November 01, 2010
The Big 12 Conference has announced its 15th annual All-Big 12 Soccer Teams and postseason awards, voted on by the league's head coaches.

Nicole Nelson (Oklahoma) and Colin Carmichael (Oklahoma State) share Coach of the Year honors. Morgan Marlborough (Nebraska) captured the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, while Melinda Mercado (Oklahoma State) was tabbed the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. Jessica Fuston (Texas Tech) was chosen as Rookie of the Year.

Marlborough, a sophomore from Lee's Summit, Mo., currently leads the conference in shots (90), points (44), goals (16) and assists (12), while ranking second in the nation in points and third in goals and assists. In addition to her back-to-back Offensive Player of the Year accolades, she also picked up Newcomer of the Year in 2009 and, with this season's honor, is the sixth soccer student-athlete to earn Big 12 Player of the Year in multiple seasons.

Junior defender Mercado helped lead the Oklahoma State squad to the program's highest ranking in school history as the Cowgirls checked in at No. 5 in back-to-back weeks. The Sapulpa, Okla., native anchored an OSU defense that recorded nine shutouts and allowed just 13 goals, while placing second in the Big 12.

Fuston, a three-time Big 12 Newcomer of the Week, finished the conference season ranked second in goals (6) and tied for second in points (14). The Cedar Park, Texas product helped Texas Tech to its first winning season since 1996 and is the first Red Raider to receive one of the Big 12's top postseason awards. Fuston was also named to the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team and All-Big 12 Second Team.

Carmichael's Cowgirls entered the 2010 season with a 10-game unbeaten streak, which they extended to 12 games before a loss to then No. 3-ranked Portland. OSU (15-3-1) responded by rattling off a 13-game unbeaten streak from Sept. 3-Oct. 16 and is three wins shy of achieving the highest single season win total in program histroy. Oklahoma State ranks in the top 40 nationally in scoring offense, goals against average and shutout percentage.

Nelson has led OU (10-7-2, 5-4-1 Big 12) to its first season of 10 overall wins and five conference wins since 2005. The Sooners closed out the regular season with a 6-3-1 record over thier final 10 contests, including a double overtime win over Texas, their first win in Austin. OU is heading to the Big 12 Championship for the first time since 2006 and, with a No. 4 seed, has achieved its highest seeding in program history.

The Conference also announced its All-Big 12 First and Second Team selections, as well as the All-Big 12 Newcomer Team.

(Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players)

Co-Coach of the Year: Nicole Nelson, Oklahoma; Colin Carmichael, Oklahoma State
Offensive Player of the Year: Morgan Marlborough, F, Nebraska, So., Lee's Summit, Mo.

Defensive Player of the Year: Melinda Mercado, D, Oklahoma State, Jr., Sapulpa, Okla.

Rookie of the Year: Jessica Fuston, F, Texas Tech, Fr., Cedar Park, Texas


GK Adrianna Franch Oklahoma State    
Salina, Kan.  
D Melinda Mercado Oklahoma State Jr. Sapulpa, Okla.  
D Bri Young Texas A&M Jr.  Castle Pines North, Colo.   
D Rachel Lenz  Texas A&M  Fr.  Round Rock, Texas   
MF Rachel Shipley  Texas A&M Sr.  Plano, Texas   
MF Alyssa Mautz  Texas A&M  Sr.  O'Fallon, Mo.   
MF Jordan Jackson  Nebraska  So.  Overland Park, Kan.   
F Morgan Marlborough   
Nebraska  So.  Lee's Summit, Mo.   
F Krista Lopez  Oklahoma State  Jr.  Carrollton, Texas   
F Merritt Mathias  Texas A&M  Jr.  Birmingham, Ala.   
F Kyndall Treadwell  Oklahoma State  Jr.  Cleveland, Okla.   

GK Alexa Gaul Texas So. Naperville, Ill.
D Whitney Sharpe Texas Tech Jr. West Des Moines, Iowa
D Erica Campanelli Texas Sr. Plano, Texas
D Carson Michalowski    
Oklahoma State      
Plano, Texas
D Alex Dohm Colorado Fr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
MF Kylie Doniak Texas Jr. Chino Hills, Calif.
MF Kate Russell Colorado Jr. Longmont, Colo.
MF Whitney Berry Kansas So. Wichita, Kan.
F Alysha Bonnick Missouri Sr. North Gower, Ontario
F Whitney Palmer Oklahoma Sr. Plano, Texas
F Jessica Fuston Texas Tech Fr. Cedar Park, Texas

GK Annie Brunner Colorado Fr. Arvada, Colo.
D Rachel Lenz Texas A&M       
Round Rock, Texas
D Nina Frausing Pedersen  
Texas Fr. Silkeborg, Denmark
D Alex Dohm Colorado Fr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
D Whitney Sharpe Texas Tech Jr. West Des Moines, Iowa
MF Lexi Harris Texas Fr. Plano, Texas
MF Dominique Richardson Missouri Fr. Fullerton, Calif.
MF Emily Goldstein Iowa State Fr. Orange County, Calif.
F Jessica Fuston Texas Tech Fr. Cedar Park, Texas
F Merritt Mathias Texas A&M Jr. Birmingham, Ala.
F Caitlin Mooney Oklahoma Fr. Edmond, Okla.

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More