Print RSS
2014 Big 12 Spring Scholar-Athletes of the Year Announced
June 18, 2014
The Big 12 Conference has announced its Scholar-Athlete of the Year recipients for the 2014 spring sport season. The following student-athletes have been selected as the award-winners for their respective sports based on a vote of each sport’s head coaching group. Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes.
2014 Big 12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Doug Ashby, Baylor, Sr.
Ashby was named a Second Team Capital One Academic All-American this season. The McKinney, Texas, native with a 4.0 grade point average as an engineering major was just one of six players on the three-team, 33-man list with a 4.0 GPA. Additionally, this year was the second year in a row that Ashby was honored as an Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection with a 4.0 GPA.
2014 Big 12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Daniel Wood, Kansas State, Sr.
Wood was one of 14 student-athletes named to the Capital One Academic All-District 7 Men’s At-Large First Team. He holds a cumulative 3.92 GPA and is currently pursuing his Master of Business Administration and is the first Wildcat to be named an academic all-district performer since 2005. The Leander, Texas, product is the lone men’s golfer in the conference over the last two years to earn a 4.0 GPA en route to First Team Academic All-Big 12 honors.
2014 Big 12 Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Prima Thammaraks, Iowa State, Sr.
A first team Academic All-Big 12 recipient for the past three seasons, Thammaraks competed in every tournament for Iowa State this season, ranking third on the team in stroke average. She posted a 3.75 GPA with a concentration in art and design.
2014 Big 12 Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Allison Dorau, Kansas State, Sr.
Dorau earned her third-straight Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor this season. She was nominated with a 3.91 GPA in elementary education studies. She is also a two-time CRCA South All-Region first team selection.
2014 Big 12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Alex Jones, Kansas, Sr.
Jones, an Enid, Oklahoma, native, is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 selection and also named the recipient of the Kansas’ 2014 Marlene Mawson Exemplary Student-Athlete Award. She was nominated with a 3.80 GPA in exercise science.
2014 Big 12 Men’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Patrick Pradella, Baylor, Sr.
Pradella was a member of the Academic All-Big 12 First Team this year. He went 21-10 in singles action and 12-5 in duals play. The junior was nominated 3.88 GPA in economics.
2014 Big 12 Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State, Sr.
Niedermayerova has accumulated several academic honors this season, including Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America At-Large First Team honors. She is also a 2014 Big 12 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship winner and a three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team recipient. Niedermayerova, who was nominated with a 3.98 GPA in economics, is the first player in school history with 100 or more career singles wins.

2014 Big 12 Men’s Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Justin Chambers, TCU, Sr.
Chambers received one of the 20 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships awarded this season and has earned Academic All-Big 12 First Team honors each of the past two seasons. Chambers was nominated with a 3.87 GPA in economics.
2014 Big 12 Women’s Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Christina Hillman, Iowa State, Jr.
Hillman has earned Academic All-Big 12 First Team honors the past two seasons and was nominated with a 3.95 GPA in Child, Adult and Family Studies - Youth Programs and Psychology.
The Big 12 Conference established the Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards in 2012-13 to recognize its outstanding student-athletes.
A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Conference’s sponsored sports.
Scholar-Athlete of the Year nomination criteria includes:
• must be a junior or senior (athletic and academic standing)
• cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or higher
• participation in at least 60% of the team’s scheduled contests
• minimum of one year in residence at the institution
Each Big 12 institution will nominate one individual per sport, and the winners will be selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches for each sport.
< Conference
Popular on
Load More