Print RSS
Texas Athlete of the Year Nominees
July 08, 2019

2018-19 Big 12 Athlete of the Year candidates will be highlighted each weekday through July 10.

Fans will be able to vote for their male and female choices beginning on July 5 and concluding on July 10 on

Fan voting will be considered in the final tally for selecting this prestigious award. Today’s featured candidates are Texas standouts Ashtin Zamzow and Christian Sigsgaard.

UT Female Athlete of the Year Candidate
Ashtin Zamzow; Women’s Track & Field
Sr., Goliad, Texas

^ Became the second heptathlete ever to win the NCAA National Title on her home track
^ Her school-record point total of 6,222 at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships makes her the eighth-best collegiate heptathlete of all-time 
^ Placed third at the NCAA Indoor Championship in the pentathlon with 4,294 points
^ Helped the Longhorns to the Big 12 Outdoor Championship crown by winning both the heptathlon and javelin events and guided UT to the indoor title with her victory in the pentathlon
^ USTFCCCA South Region Field Event Athlete of the Year
^ Semifinalist for The Bowerman, which is awarded to the nation's most outstanding collegiate track & field athlete

UT Male Athlete of the Year Candidate
Christian Sigsgaard; Men’s Tennis
Jr.; Naestved, Denmark

^ Played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for the 2019 National Champion Longhorns
^ Earned ITA All-American status in both singles and doubles
^ Finished ranked No. 6 in both singles and doubles by the ITA
^ Earned Big 12 Co-Player of the Year honors and was the Big 12 No. 1 Singles Co-Champion
^ All-Big 12 First Team honoree in singles and doubles

2018-19 Big 12 Athlete of the Year Candidates
Baylor: Lauren Cox (Women’s Basketball) and Davis Wendzel (Baseball)
Iowa State: Bridget Carleton (Women’s Basketball) and Edwin Kurgat (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Kansas: Nina Khmelnitckaia (Women’s Tennis) and Bryce Hoppel (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
K-State: Peyton Williams (Women’s Basketball) and Tejaswin Shankar (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Oklahoma: Brenna Dowell (Gymnastics) and Kyler Murray (Football)
Oklahoma State: Sinclaire Johnson (Track & Field/Cross Country) and Viktor Hovland (Men’s Golf)
TCU: Destiny Longmire (Women’s Track & Field) and Chengetayi Mapaya (Men’s Track & Field)
Texas: Ashtin Zamzow (Women’s Track & Field) and Christian Sigsgaard (Men’s Tennis)
Texas Tech: Karli Hamilton (Softball) and Divine Oduduru (Men’s Track & Field)
West Virginia: Bianca St. Georges (Soccer) and Will Grier (Football)

< Conference
Popular on
Load More