Print RSS
Darlington Wins Wuerffel Trophy
December 08, 2015

Oklahoma offensive lineman Ty Darlington is the winner of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy, announced by Danny Wuerffel at the National Football Foundation’s Press Conference at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York.

The All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Florida, presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best exhibits exemplary community service.

 “We are honored to announce that Ty is the recipient of this years Wuerffel Trophy,” said Wuerffel. “The selfless work that he did by serving others not only in Oklahoma, but around the world as well, is really what the award is all about. We are proud to have him as part of our family of past winners.”

Darlington is the third Big 12 player to win the award since it was first presented in 2005, joining his former teammate Gabe Ikard (2013) and Sam Acho (Texas, 2010).

The senior center from Apopka, Florida, assisted Oklahoma to an 11-1 regular season record and appearance in the CFP semifinals in 2015. He has helped lead three mission trips to Haiti with Mission of Hope, while also leading numerous volunteer efforts (tornado relief, Children’s Hospital Visits, President of Oklahoma University Fellowship of Christian Athletes, etc.) in Oklahoma. He completed his undergraduate degree in Arts and Sciences in only 2.5 years, and currently has a 4.0 GPA in graduate school. Darlington is also a member of the National Football Foundation’s 2015 Scholar-Athlete Class, where he is a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy..

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winner, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League, and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries, in New Orleans, Louisiana, and around the country.

As the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient, Darlington will be interviewed on “The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show” airing on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Thursday at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST. The show will feature interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach the new location for The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia.

Darlington will be presented with the Wuerffel Trophy at the All Sports Association’s 47th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb. 12, 2016, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.  For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit

About the Wuerffel Trophy:
The Wuerffel Trophy is college football’s premier award for community service. The All Sports Association presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision football player who best exhibits exemplary community service, along with qualifying academic and athletic achievement. As the trophy namesake, Danny Wuerffel embodies the three categories of the award: Community Service, Academics and Athletics. Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: 2014 Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi; 2013 Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma; 2012 Matt Barkley, University of Southern California; 2011 Barrett Jones, University of Alabama; 2010 Sam Acho, University of Texas; 2009 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University; 2008 Tim Tebow, University of Florida; 2007 Paul Smith, University of Tulsa; 2006 Joel Penton, Ohio State University; and 2005 Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University
< Football
Popular on
Load More