Print RSS
Four Tabbed as Walter Camp Award Players to Watch
July 18, 2014

The Big 12 landed four more student-athletes to national award watch lists as the 2014 Walter Camp Award, “players to watch” list was revealed Friday morning.

Bryce Petty (Baylor), Tyler Lockett (K-State), Trevor Knight (Oklahoma) and Devonte Fields (TCU) represent the Big 12 on the 50-man list.

Petty, who is also named to the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Award watch lists, enters the season as the Big 12 preseason offensive player of the year as decided by the media. The Midlothian, Texas product accounted for 4,200 passing yards and 46 touchdowns last season (32 passing) en route to the Bears first Big 12 Conference Title.

Lockett was one of eight receivers nationwide to be named to the list of players to watch. Lockett hauled in 81 receptions for 1,262 yards and 11 touchdowns last season. He set a school record for single-game receiving yardage with 237 against Texas and then broke his own record later in the season with a 278 yard performance against Oklahoma. Lockett has also been named to the Biletnikoff and Hornung Award watch lists this season.

Knight, who was also named to the Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, saw action in eight games last season including five starts for the Sooners. He amassed 1,264 yards of total offense including 445 rushing yards. Knight finished the season with a Sugar Bowl MVP performance against Alabama, where he threw four touchdown passes and tallied 348 yard through the air.

Fields was the 2012 Associated Press Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year as a true freshman, when he led the conference with 18 1/2 tackles for loss while placing third with 10 sacks. His 10 sacks broke the TCU freshman record of seven set by eventual NFL All-Pro Aaron Schobel in 1997.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is designated to honor the most outstanding player in college football and is the nation’s fourth oldest college football accolade. The award is named in honor of the legendary player and coach Walter Camp who is also referred to as, “The Father of American Football.” Camp is credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November. The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 11. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

< Football
Popular on
Load More