Print RSS
2006 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team Announced
November 21, 2006

Nov. 21, 2006

Academic All-Big 12 Football Team in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

IRVING, TEXAS--The Big 12 Conference has named 151 student-athletes to the 2006 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, Dane Todd (Nebraska) and Matt LaFon (Texas A&M) posted a 4.00 grade point average.

Texas led the conference with 24 selections on the squad -- 14 on the first team, with 10 earning second team accolades.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the football academic all-league team consisted of 97 first team members combined with 54 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Football
Popular on
Load More