Print RSS
Mayfield Named Finalist for Walter Camp Award
November 29, 2017

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is one of five finalists for the 2017 Walter Camp Football Foundation 2017 Player of the Year award, as announced by the organization on Wednesday.

The leader of the third-ranked Sooners offense, Mayfield has passed for 4,097 yards (247-of-346) and 37 touchdowns.  His 4,097 yards rank second in the nation. He has thrown for 300 or more yards nine times, including a career-best 598 (24-of-36, 5 touchdowns) in a win against Oklahoma State on Nov. 4 that earned him Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week honors.  Oklahoma (11-1) will play TCU on Dec. 2 in the Big 12 Championship Game.

The 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 7 during the 5 p.m. CT edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s 51st annual national awards banquet, presented by David McDermott Lexus of New Haven, on Saturday, January 13, 2018 at Yale University’s Lanman Center in New Haven.


< Football
Popular on
Load More