Print RSS
Oklahoma Wins 2015 Big 12 Gymnastics Championship
March 21, 2015

NORMAN, Okla. - For the fourth straight season, the Oklahoma Sooners have won the Big 12 Gymnastics title. OU recorded a score of 197.875 to claim the championship while West Virginia (195.025) and Iowa State (194.775) claimed second and third, respectively.

The Sooners led through all four rotations taking the top spot in all four events. West Virginia claimed second in Beam (48.25) and Vault (49.00) to total a score of 195.025, while Iowa State claimed second in floor (49.050) and bars (48.900) for a score of 194.775.

Iowa State’s Haley Young claimed this season’s all around championship with a score of 38.700 ahead of West Virginia’s Dayah Haley who combined for a 38.950.

Oklahoma’s Ali Jackson claimed the Vault event title with a 9.925 while teammate Recca Clark and Iowa State’s Caitlin Brown tied for the Uneven Parallel Bars crown with a score of 9.900. The Sooners also earned the Balance Beam crown as Chayse Capps and Erica Brewer tied for first with an astonishing 9.950. Freshman Brenna Dowell wrapped up the Sooners' sweep by claiming the Floor Exercise title with a 9.950.

Following the meet, the conference announced its annual awards as determined by the league’s coaches in a pre-championship vote. Oklahoma’s Haley Scaman was named the Big 12 Gymnast of the Year while the Sooners' Ali Jackson earned Event Specialist of the Year. Dowell took home the league’s Newcomer of the Year award.

OU’s K.J. Kindler was named the Big 12 Coach of the Year for the ninth time in her career and fifth time as head coach for the Sooners.

The three squads will turn their sites to the NCAA postseason as the trio will all host regional action. The 2015 NCAA Gymnastics Championship will be held at the Fort Worth Convention Center in Fort Worth, Texas April 17-19.


  Vault Bars Beam Floor Total
Oklahoma 49.425 41.175 49.650 49.650 197.875
West Virginia 49.000 48.500 48.525 49.000 195.025
Iowa State 48.650 48.900 48.175 49.050 194.775

Vault: Ali Jackson, Oklahoma (9.925); Chayse Capps, Oklahoma (9.900); Haley Scaman (9.900)

Bars: Rebecca Clark, Oklahoma (9.900); Caitlin Brown, Iowa State (9.900); McKenzie Wofford, Oklahoma (9.875)

Beam: Chayse Capps, Oklahoma (9.975); Erica Brewer, Oklahoma (9.975); Rebecca Clark, Oklahoma (9.950)

Floor: Brenna Dowell, Oklahoma (9.950); Kara Lovan, Oklahoma (9.925); Ali Jackson, Oklahoma (9.925); Haley Scaman, Oklahoma (9.925)

Gymnast of the Year: Haley Scaman, Oklahoma
Event Specialist: Ali Jackson, Oklahoma
Newcomer of the Year: Brenna Dowell, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year: K.J. Kindler, Oklahoma

< Gymnastics
Popular on
Load More