Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country Team Announced
October 23, 2012
The Big 12 Conference has named 127 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country Team, the league office announced.

Among those honored, 13 were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average. Four Baylor student-athletes posted perfect GPAs, including Blake Niccum, Erin Hegarty, Brianna Schrader and Sarah Guhl. Liza Tauscher (Kansas), Erika Schiller (Kansas State), Jessica Engel and Molly Ferguson (Oklahoma), Jessica Harper, Anne Jones and Laleh Mojtabaeezamani (Texas), and Kaitlynn Gillespie and Kelly Williams (West Virginia) also recorded 4.00 GPAs.

It marks the second straight year BU's Niccum has been honored on the first team with a 4.00 mark.

Oklahoma State's 13 honorees were the most on the men's side, including a team-best 10 first team members. For the women, Baylor tallied the most overall and first team selections with 14 and 12, respectively.

A total of 50 men's student-athletes were honored, including 39 on the first team and 11 on the second team. Sixty-eight of the 77 members on the women's side earned first team recognition, with nine individuals collecting second team designations.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More