Print RSS
Five Teams Advance to NCAA Championship
November 12, 2016

Five Big 12 cross country teams have earned berths in the 2016 NCAA National Championship in Terre Haute, Indiana, including conference champions Oklahoma State men and Iowa State women.

Just two weeks removed from its ninth Big 12 Championship, OSU locked up its NCAA invite for the sixth straight year. The Cowboy’s victory in the Midwest Regional gives the program its 11th win in 12 years. OSU’s women finished second in the Midwest Regional to advance the NCAA Championships for the 10th time in school history.

The Texas men and Baylor women will join Oklahoma State at the championship, with both squads earning automatic bids with second-place finishes in the South Central Regional. It is the 16th time BU had advanced to the NCAA Championship in school history as well as the second consecutive for Texas.

Iowa State women, who finished third at the Midwest Regional behind the Cowgirls, will head to the tournament for the eighth straight time.

An additional six individuals from non-qualifying schools were also selected to represent the league: Dylan Blankenbaker (Oklahoma) and Benard Keter (Texas Tech)  on the men’s side, along with Sharon Lokedi (Kansas), Brenley Goertzen (TCU),  Jillian Forsey (West Virginia) and Maggie Drazba (West Virginia) for the women.

The conference placed 16 men and 23 women on All-Region Teams, including nine from Oklahoma State (five men, four women).

Indiana State University will host the NCAA championships, Saturday, November 19, at Wabash Valley Family Sports Center located in Terre Haute, Indiana. The women’s race will begin at noon CT, followed by the men’s race at approximately 1:00 p.m. CT.

A live webcast of the championship will be broadcast from noon CT until the conclusion of the awards ceremony on

< Cross Country
Popular on
Load More