Print RSS
Women's Tennis Postseason Honors Announced
May 11, 2017

A close-fought regular season concludes with the announcement of the All-Big 12 tennis postseason awards, as selected by the league's head coaches.

Texas Tech's Gabiela Talaba has been named Player of the Year, Tess Bernard-Feigenbaum of Kansas is chosen Newcomer of the Year and Bianca Turtia of Texas earned Freshman of the Year. Texas Tech mentor Todd Petty earns his third Coach of the Year accolade.

Talaba posted a 20-5 overall regular season record, with a 10-1 mark in Big 12 play. The junior sits at the No. 9 ranking in the nation as Tech moves into the NCAA Championship.

Petty led his squad to a second Big 12 regular season title and first postseason championship. Tech posted a 24-4 record and is ranked No. 7 nationally.

Bernard-Feigenbaum led the Jayhawks with a 22-11 overall record this season. She helped Kansas earn an at-large bid for the NCAA Championship, marking the second appearance in a row for KU.

Turati had a 15-7 mark, including a 9-7 record at the No. 1 singles position. The freshman looks to finish her first season in Austin by helping the Longhorns as UT makes its 34th NCAA appearance.

Joining Talaba on the All-Big 12 First Team are Blair Shankle (Baylor), Anastasia Rychagova (Kansas), Lily Miyazaki (Oklahoma), Viktoriya Luchkova (Oklahoma State), Katatiana Adamovic (Oklahoma State) Bianca Turati (Texas) and Seda Arantekin (TCU).

Texas Tech and Oklahoma State led the way with three singles honorees each, while OSU picked up three doubles recipients as well.

Coach of the Year: Todd Petty (Texas Tech)
Player of the Year: Gabriela Talaba(Texas Tech)
Newcomer of the Year: Tess Bernard-Feigenbaum (Kansas)
Freshman of the Year: Bianca Turati (Texas)

First Team - Singles
Blair Shankle, Baylor, Sr.
Anastasia Rychagova, Kansas, So.
Lily Miyazaki, Oklahoma, Jr.
Viktoriya Lushkova, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Katarina Adamovic, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Gabriela Talaba, Texas Tech, Jr.
Bianca Turati, Texas, Fr.
Seda Arantekin, TCU, Sr.

First Team - Doubles
Blair Shankle, Sr. / Karina Traxler, So., Baylor
Carla Tur Mari, Sr. / Vladica Babic, Jr., Oklahoma State
Gabriela Talaba, Jr. / Felicity Maltby, So. Texas Tech
Sabrina Federici, Jr. / Sarah Dvorak, Jr., Texas Tech

Second Team - Singles
Aliona Bolsova, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Neda Koprcina, Texas, Sr.
Felicity Maltby, Texas Tech, So.
Sabrina Federici, Texas Tech, Jr.
Petra Granic, Texas, Fr.
Rhiann Newborn, Baylor, Sr.
Vladica Babic, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Sofiko Kadzhaya, TCU, Sr.

Second Team - Doubles
Katarina Adamovic, Sr. / Viktoriya Lushkova, Sr., Oklahoma State
Aliona Bolsova, Fr. / Sofia Blanco, So., Oklahoma State
Khmelnitckaia, So. / Bernard-Feigenbaum, Sr., Kansas
Arantekin, So. / Garrido - Ravas, Sr., TCU

All-Freshman Team
Jessica Hinojosa, Baylor, Fr.
Lena Ruppert, Oklahoma State Fr.
Aliona Bolsova, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Bianca Turati, Texas, Fr.
Petra Granic, Texas, Fr.
Anna Turati, Texas, Fr.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More