Print RSS
Big 12 Tennis Championships Preview
April 21, 2008

April 21, 2008

IRVING, Texas-The Big 12 Conference has announced the pairings for the 2008 Big 12 Tennis Championships, scheduled for April 24-27 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas.

On the men's side, Baylor and Texas shared the regular season title with 5-1 conference records. The Longhorns garnered the No. 1 seed by virtue of their 4-3 win over the Bears on April 16. It marks the seventh straight year that BU has won or shared the Big 12 crown. UT earns its fifth Big 12 regular season championship, having also posted the top league mark in 1997, `98, `99 and 2006. Both teams are ranked in the top 13 in the nation in the latest ITA/Fila men's team rankings.

Baylor won the women's crown by posting its third 11-0 record in Big 12 action in the last four years. The Bears, ranked No. 3 in the nation in the latest ITA/Fila Top 25, have won 43 of their last 44 regular-season league matches. This is Baylor's fourth consecutive league title and the fifth in Big 12 Conference history.

In women's tennis, No. 2 seed Texas, No. 3 Texas A&M and No. 4 Colorado joined Baylor with first-round byes. Kansas, Oklahoma State and Nebraska earned the fifth, sixth and seventh seeds, respectively, after close tie-breakers. All three teams had 5-6 conference marks with the singles and doubles points giving the No. 5 seed to Kansas. OSU earned the No. 6 seed based on its 5-2 win over Nebraska on April 5. A head-to-head tiebreaker was also needed for Oklahoma and Texas Tech as both teams finished with a 4-7 conference record and 11-11 overall record. Oklahoma was awarded the No. 8 seed with a 5-2 win over Texas Tech on April 13. After No. 9 Texas Tech, No. 10 Kansas State, No. 11 Missouri and No. 12 Iowa State are the remaining seeds.

In men's tennis, Oklahoma State followed as the No. 3 seed in a head-to-head tiebreaker with Texas Tech by virtue of a 4-3 Cowboy victory on April 6. Both teams finished with a 4-2 league mark. It is the most wins for the Red Raiders in Big 12 matches since 2005. The No. 5 seed is Texas A&M followed by No. 6 Oklahoma, which defeated seventh-seeded Nebraska on the last day of the regular season.

The Big 12 Tennis Championships will be held at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center on the Texas A&M University campus for the third time in conference history. All-Championship Stadium Club passes are priced at $30 and All-Championship General Admission is $15. Single Day tickets will only be available at the George P Mitchell Tennis Center Box Office and are available each day of the event.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More