Print RSS
Academic All-Big 12 Tennis Teams Feature 53 Student-Athletes
April 23, 2013

A total of 53 Big 12 student-athletes have been named to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 Tennis Teams, the league office announced.

On the men’s side, Ryan Proctor (Oklahoma) and Trevor Horstmann (Oklahoma State) were nominated with 4.00 grade point averages, while Petra Niedermayerova (Kansas State) and Lina Padegimaite (Texas) represent with perfect GPAs on the women’s team.

Three Longhorns become three-time honorees, including Chris Camillone, who has been honored as a first team member the past three years. Alex Hilliard and Daniel Whitehead were recognized on the first team in 2012 and earned second team recognition in 2011. For the women, Caroline Starck (Texas Tech) collects her third straight first team distinction.

The TCU men and Texas Tech women led all teams with seven overall honorees. The Lady Raiders had six first team members, while TCU and Texas tied with five first team recognitions on the men’s team.

A total of 44 student-athletes earned first team recognition (19 men, 25 women), while nine golfers comprise the second team (six men, three women).

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (either cumulative or the two previous semesters) and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Tennis
Popular on
Load More