Print RSS
Players Finish Strong in Final Day of the WATC
September 26, 2016

Ten current Big 12 golfers competed in the World Amateur Team Championship in Maya Riviera, Mexico. The event, which concluded Friday, featured five golfers that placed in the top-20 of individual competition and eight that finished in the top-15 in team play.

A total of 71 teams were entered in the Championship, the second-largest field in Eisenhower Trophy history.

Viktor Hovland (Oklahoma State), who ranks 21st in the world amateur golf ranking heading into the event, lead the Norwegian team with a 10-under 276 mark to nail a seventh place finished individually. Hovland and fellow Oklahoma State teammate, Kristoffer Ventura, led Norway to a fifth place showing in the Team Championships. Ventura’s effort landed him eleventh overall in the individual scoring.

Also tying for 11th place in the individual competition was Fredrik Nilehn (Texas Tech). Nilehn, who came off an individual victory at the Carmel Cup, led the Swedish team over the four rounds (68-71-71-69). Hannes Ronneblad (Texas Tech) represented Sweden as well, tying for 81st place in individuals and helped propel Sweden to end round four in 13th.

Brad Dalke (Oklahoma) collected a 20th place finish overall, tying with his New Zealand counterpart, Nick Voke (Iowa State). The Oklahoma and Iowa State players carded a 5-under par 281 to close the event.

Texas Tech’s Hurley Long scored a 2-under par 284 for team Germany and helped the team to a 12th place effort after resurging from a round three 19th place finish. Long tied for 32nd along with Schottie Scheffler (Texas) in the individual scoring.

Kansas State’s Jeremy Gandon of France placed 62nd in solo competition and 16th in the team standings. TCU’s Stephano Mazzoli of Italy notched the 118th spot individually and 34th with his team.

The event was sponsored by the International Golf Federation and hosted by the Mexican Golf Federation and is held every two years. 


Eisenhower Team Championship Results

5.  Norway: Viktor Hovland (OSU) and Kristoffer Ventura (OSU)

T-6.  United States: Brad Dalke (OU) and Scottie Scheffler (UT)

12.  Germany: Hurley Long (TTU)

T-13.  Sweden: Fredrik Nilehn (TTU) and Hannes Ronneblad (TTU)

T-16.  France: Jeremy Gandon (K-STATE)

T-34.  Italy: Stephano Mazzoli (TCU)


Eisenhower Individual Championship Results

T-7.  Viktor Hovland (OSU)

T-11.  Fredrik Nilehn (TTU)

T-11.  Kristoffer Ventura (OSU)

T-20.  Brad Dalke (OU)

T-20.  Nick Voke (Iowa State)

T-32.  Hurley Long (TTU)

T-32.  Scottie Scheffler (UT)

T-62.  Jeremy Gandon (K-STATE)

T-81.  Hannes Ronneblad (TTU)

T-118.  Stephano Mazzoli (TCU)


< Golf
Popular on
Load More