Print RSS
Three Teams Advance to NCAA Women's Golf Championship
May 10, 2017

Three teams will move on to the 2017 NCAA Women's Golf Championship in Sugar Grove, Ill. May 19-24. Baylor, Texas and Texas Tech qualified after finishing in the top five of each institution's regional site.

This marks the seventh time in conference history three teams earned NCAA Championship bids.

Baylor advances from the Athens Regional for its fourth championship appearance in program history. The team earned fourth place after three rounds of golf, recording a 877 (+13).

In the Lubbock Regional, hosted by Texas Tech, Texas also placed fourth. UT closed the final round with an 8-under 280 score to qualify for the finals. As a team, the Longhorns' 280 marks the second-lowest 18-hole output of the season.

Texas Tech followed in fifth where all five of Tech's players shot 2-over or better during the last two rounds en route to a 3-over 291 final round card. The Red Raiders advance for the second time in program history with the team's final 873 (+9) score.

Additionally, Julienne Soo of Oklahoma will advance as an individual competitor. Soo fired a three-round 213 (-3) to finish the tournament in seventh place and is the first Sooner since 2010 to qualify for the championship as an individual.

The Championship format consists of 24 teams and 12 individuals completing 54 holes of stroke play. Following the three rounds, the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will advance to an additional day of stroke play. The top eight teams will compete in match play for the national title.

Catch the final three days of NCAA Championship action May 22-24 live on the Golf Channel or for live results.

< Golf
Popular on
Load More