Print RSS
Academic All-Big 12 Golf Teams Recognize 59 Student-Athletes
April 09, 2013

Fifty-nine Big 12 golfers have been named to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 Golf Teams, the conference office announced.

On the men’s side, Daniel Wood (Kansas State) was nominated with a 4.00 grade point average. For the women, Taylor Schmidt (Oklahoma), Alexandra Bonetti (TCU) and Kim Kaufman (Texas Tech) are 4.0 GPA nominations.

Curtis Yonke (Kansas State) becomes a three-time Academic All-Big 12 first team honoree. Five members of the women’s team are also three-time first team selections: Hanna Roos (Kansas State), Madison Pressel and Haley Stephens (Texas), and Gabby Dominguez and Kaufman (Texas Tech).

The Iowa State men led all teams with five first team honorees. ISU’s quintet was matched by Texas Tech in overall selections as both institution’s represented with five total members. Texas and Texas Tech paced the women’s honorees with five first team selections. Between both teams, Texas Tech’s 10 selections was the highest.

A total of 47 student-athletes earned first team recognition (19 men, 28 women), while 12 golfers comprise the second team (seven men, five women).

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher (either cumulative or the two previous semesters) and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

< Golf
Popular on
Load More