Print RSS
Three League Players Named Dick Howser Semifinalists
May 18, 2017

Three league standouts have been named semifinalists for the 2017 Dick Howser Trophy, as announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Thursday morning. Morgan Cooper of Texas and Texas Tech's Steven Gingery and Hunter Hargrove were named three of 25 semifinalists by the organization.

Hargrove ranks in the top four in batting while Cooper and Gingery rank in the top three of pitching statistics.

The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting. The finalists will be announced on Friday, June 9. The 2017 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium at the NCAA College World Series. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 16 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 17 at 10 a.m. (CDT).

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

Previous league winners of the Howser Trophy are: Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; and Taylor Jungmann, Texas, 2011.

Big 12 baseball regular seaosn action concludes this weekend, May 18-21.

Morgan Cooper, Texas
Steven Gingery, Texas Tech
Hunter Hargrove, Texas Tech

< Conference
Popular on
Load More