Print RSS
All-Big 12 Rowing Honors Announced
May 29, 2019

The Big 12 announced the recipients for the 2019 Big 12 Rowing ‘Of the Year’ awards, voted on by league coaches. Texas junior Milica Slijepcevic was named Rower of the Year, Oklahoma sophomore Nicole Molina claimed Newcomer of the Year and Alabama head coach Glenn Putyrae tabbed Coach of the Year.

Slijepcevic is a three-time Big 12 champion and two-time All-Big 12 Team honoree. The junior rowed at the seven seat in the Varsity 8+ at the 2019 Big 12 Championship. The crew crossed the finish line in first place at 6:25.872. She is also the third consecutive Longhorn and fifth overall to receive the Rower of the Year honor.

Molina has seen action in numerous boats this season, but has consistently rowed in the five seat for the Sooners’ first varsity eight and the three seat for OU’s 1V4+. The walk-on sat in the five seat for OU’s 1V8, helping the boat finish in second at the Big 12 Championship. This is the third-straight Newcomer of the Year award and fourth overall for Oklahoma.

Putyrae captured Alabama’s first Coach of the Year award since joining the Big 12 as an affiliate member. In his first year with the Crimson Tide, he led the team to a program-best second place finish at the Big 12 Championship. Alabama also won three consecutive Big 12 Boat of the Week honors and ranked in the top-20 of the US Rowing/CRCA Poll for the first time in program history.

2019 Big 12 Rowing Individual Awards
Rower of the Year: Milica Slijepcevic, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Nicole Molina, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year: Glenn Putyrae, Alabama

< Rowing
Popular on
Load More